Audio

Tunes Times Tuesday: Modest Mouse In Missoula – Yeeeeeeeeeah!!!

Tomorrow I am going to Big Sky Brewery to see Modest Mouse live!!!! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes!!! Muah ha ha ha.. I’m supercali duper fragilisticexpialidocious uber excited (could you tell?)!

I have loved Modest Mouse ever since high-school, and they come to Montana a lot, but I have never gotten the chance to see them live.  Not only do I get to see one of my favorite bands ever, I also get to see them with one of my favorite person’s ever – one of my sisters’.  I’m sure there will be plenty of good friends there as well.  Why do I think that?.. Well, because it’s Modest Mouse.  I don’t think I have a single close friend who doesn’t enjoy listening to Modest Mouse.

I think Modest Mouse is probably the 1st indie band I ever liked.  Before boarding school I was more into the punk and goth scene.  Then I met a cute boy in boarding school who always played Modest Mouse on his guitar.  I instantly fell in love… with the band, not the boy… I swear.  I bought my first Modest Mouse cd – The Moon and Antarctica.  I would listen to it whenever I was upset or sick.  I bought some of their older albums later on and just will always be a fan.

Naturally, with it coming up tomorrow, I am going to share a few of my favorites:

Satellite Skin

Just enough just to say you don’t mean it
Well, when everybody’s willing to listen
Oh satellite, satellite skin
You can say what you want you’re forgiven
Well happy fucking congratulations
Well everyone, everyone wins
Just like being in my own solar system
Doing good things but then totally eclipse them
Oh what the use, oh what the hell

 

Parting of the Sensory

Who the hell made you the boss?
We placed our chips in all the right spots
But still lost
Any shithead who had ever walked
Could take the ship and do a much finer job
This fit like clothes made out of wasps
Aw, fuck it I guess I lost

Missed the Boat

Everyone’s unhappy
Everyone’s ashamed
Well we all just got caught looking
At somebody else’s page
Well nothing ever went
Quite exactly as we planned
Our ideas held no water
But we used them like a dam

Oh, and we carried it all so well
As if we got a new position
Oh, and I laugh all the way to hell
Saying yes, this is a fine promotion
Oh, and I laugh all the way to hell

Bukowski

Well see what you wanna see. You should see it all.
Well take what you want from me. You deserve it all.
Nine times out of ten our hearts just get dissolved.
Well I want a better place or just a better way to fall.

But one time out of ten, everything is perfect for us all.
Well I want a better place or just a better way to fall.
Here we go!

Satin In A Coffin

Now the blow’s been softened,
since the air we breathe’s our coffin.
Well now the blow’s been softened,
since the ocean is our coffin.
Often times you know our laughter
is your coffin ever after.
And you know the blow’s been softened,
since the world is our coffin.
Well now the blow’s been softened
since we are our own damn coffins.
Well everybody’s talkin’ about their short lists.
Everybody’s talkin’ about death.

3rd Planet

Everything that keeps me together is falling apart,
I’ve got this thing that I consider my only art of fucking people over
My boss just quit the job says he’s goin’ out to find blind spots and he’ll do it
The 3rd Planet is sure that they’re being watched by an eye in the sky that can’t be stopped
When you get to the promise land your gonna shake that eye’s hand
Your heart felt good it was drippin’ pitch and made of wood
And your hands and knees felt cold and wet on the grass to me
Outside naked, shiverin’ looking blue, from the cold sunlight that’s reflected off the moon
Baby cum angels fly around you reminding you we used to be three and not just two
And that’s how the world began
And that’s how the world will end
A 3rd had just been made and we were swimming in the water, didn’t know then was it a son was it a daughter
When it occurred to me that the animals are swimming around in the water in the oceans in our bodies and another had been found another ocean on the planet given that our blood is just like the Atlantic
And how
The universe is shaped exactly like the earth if you go straight long enough you’ll end up where you were

Dark Center of the Universe

Well, it took a lot of work to be the ass that I am
And I’m real damn sure that anyone can, equally easily fuck you over
Well, died sayin’ something, but didn’t mean it
Everyone’s life ends, but no one ever completes it
Dry or wet ice, they both melt and you’re equally cheated

The Stars Are Projectors

Everyone wants a double feature
They want to be in their own damn teacher, and how
All the stars are projectors, yeah
Projectin’ our lives down to this planet Earth
You’ve got the harder part, You’ve got the kinder heart
And it’s true
I’ve got the easy part, I’ve got the harder heart
Aint this true
Right wing, left wing, chicken wing
It’s built on findin’ the easier ways through
God is a woman and the woman is
An animal that animals man, and that’s you
Was there a need for creation?
That was hiden in a math equation
And that’s this:
WHERE DO CIRCLES BEGIN?

Yeah.. I’m stoked!

❤ Ari

Leave a Reply

